Board of Directors

The Steel Valley Authority Board of Directors is made up of 3 citizen delegates from each of our 12 member municipalities: Clairton, Duquesne, East Pittsburgh, Glassport, Homestead, McKeesport, Munhall, Rankin, Swissvale, Turtle Creek, West Homestead, and the City of Pittsburgh. Board members are appointed by Borough Councils or by the City's Mayor. The Board of Directors meets 5 times per year on the third Wednesday of January, March, May, September, and November.  

The Board is responsible for the decisions that are agreed to at Board meetings which are considered in a responsible manner, reflecting legal and moral responsibility.  Board members must follow conflict of interest and confidentiality policies. Additionally, the Board provides financial direction for the agency and assistance in raising funds for the Authority.


Lori A. Schmidt - Chairwoman
Thomas A. Michlovic - Vice Chairman
Christopher L. Casavale - Treasurer
Vince Natale - Assistant Treasurer
Amy K. Starrett - Secretary
Maureen Cusack - Assistant Secretary


Howard Bednar An Lewis Jeffrey Schaffer
Denise Caldwell Belinda Lewis Amanda Settlemaier
Maureen Cusack George F. Matta Christopher Terrick
Gerald Dettore John Palyo Gina Velar
Wayne Donato Nancy Piazza-Whaby Jay Weinberg
Barbara Edwards    


Joseph S. Hornack, Esq.
Healy & Hornack

If you are interested in becoming a member of the SVA Board of Directors, please contact us:
Steel Valley Authority
(412) 342-0534 (phone)
1-866-SVA-8832 - toll free